Ultimate Traffic Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Ultimate Traffic (Classic Version) Forums > Ultimate Traffic in FSX - Classic Version
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Installing  AI Aircraft & Textures Manual
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedInstalling AI Aircraft & Textures Manual

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
hanstatdg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: May-26-2005
Location: London, UK
Points: 9277
Direct Link To This Post Posted: February-01-2009 at 5:04am
First, if you are starting a new subject, please start a new thread. It makes it more likely to get an answer.

It's generally not a good idea to attempt to fly AI aircraft, although there are a few exceptions, clearly stated in the download.

Usually, AI aircraft lack detail, to reduce the effect on frame rates. They are configured for AI, and often don't fly well. They usually lack panels and sound. Also, if you enable one for flying, it will list all the associated textures in FS's Aircraft list, which can seriously affect loading times.

If, after this, you are still determined to fly one, you have to edit its <aircrft>.air file, using AirEd. Change Item 105 from 2 to 0 and save.

It is much better to download an aircraft suitable for flying. That's not being an oddball - we all do it.There are hundreds on AVSIM, flightsim.com and other websites. You can also download custom panels and sounds.

Finally, if you really want the best, you have to pay for it. There are lots of high quality flyable aircraft available as shareware. You will find several on the Flight 1 website, to name just one.
David Hanstater
Administrator.
Back to Top
hanstatdg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: May-26-2005
Location: London, UK
Points: 9277
Direct Link To This Post Posted: March-17-2010 at 1:08pm
Originally posted by comair485 comair485 wrote:

Is there a way were I can fly the ultimate traffic aircraft?? Because I feel like an oddball flying aircraft that I downloaded from simviation or the other websites.

If anyone can help you can contact me here or on my email. zacharysitar@yahoo.com

Smile Thanks!



Don't try! UT aircraft are not designed for flying. Most have no panels anyway. Also they don't fly well. They have also reltively crude graphics and dynamics, because the intention is to reduce the processing load and keep frame rates up.

There are lots of freeware flyable aircraft available in libraries such as AVSIM and Flightsim.com, and many more sophisticated payware ones from websites such as Flight 1.
David Hanstater
Administrator.
Back to Top
bigworld View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: September-16-2011
Points: 3
Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-16-2011 at 5:08am
Fantastic! Exactly what I needed Big%20smile I've been fighting for the last couple of days trying to add missing textures, but with no joy.

Back to Top
hanstatdg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: May-26-2005
Location: London, UK
Points: 9277
Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-16-2011 at 7:09am
Ask for any textures you have difficulty finding.You could try searching the Forum first, because we have lots of members adding textures, and it's likely that someone has already found the ones you need.

Remember that textures are only for the aircraft models they are designed for, so you will probably have to download AI aircraft models as well as textures.
David Hanstater
Administrator.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.10
Copyright ©2001-2017 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.