Ultimate Traffic Forums Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Ultimate Traffic (Classic Version) Forums > Screenshot Forum
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Why I have not been around much!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Why I have not been around much!

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
John Goodwin View Drop Down
Licensed Member
Licensed Member


Joined: May-26-2005
Points: 8133
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Goodwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Why I have not been around much!
    Posted: August-15-2010 at 9:50am

Why I have not been around much!

I have been busy over the weekend setting up my NEW system. So far I am pretty impressed with the dispay over THREE screens actual display area is 5760x1200X32.

The machine is an i7 with 250GB SSHD, 6Mb memory and and EYEFINITE graphics card running all three monitors as "one". At the moment with UT2, GEX and FEX running I am able to run with the sliders in FSX ALL to the right, a first for me and frame rates are pretty good even a KJFK and around New York, where I find the biggest frame rate hits are.

Back to Top
hanstatdg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: May-26-2005
Location: London, UK
Points: 9303
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hanstatdg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-15-2010 at 11:09am
Wow, John, that looks fantastic. I'm green with envy.

And that's a pretty impressive flight deck.

Are you using Windows 7?
David Hanstater
Administrator.
Back to Top
freelancer View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: May-26-2005
Points: 2124
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote freelancer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-15-2010 at 11:32am

Very nice.  Congrats

Guess this means you won't be around as much now, huh? LOL

Mark
P3D v4.4
Back to Top
John Goodwin View Drop Down
Licensed Member
Licensed Member


Joined: May-26-2005
Points: 8133
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Goodwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-16-2010 at 2:36am

for the techies:-

Case: Cooler Master Cosmos 1000
Power Supply: Coolermaster Real Power M850
Processor: Core i7 930 8MB Cache Socket 1366
CPU Cooler: Prolimatech Megahalem CPU Cooler
Optimisation and Tuning: Wired2Fire Overclocking
Graphics Card 1: ATI Radeon HD5800 Eyefinite
Graphics Card 2: None
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600MHz C7 Triple Channel
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R Intel X58 (Socket 1366) Motherboard
Hard Disk Drive One: 250GB OCZ Vertex SSD Series SATA II 2.5
Hard Disk Drive Two: None
Hard Disk Drive Three: 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 32MB Cache SATA 300
Optical Drive One: None
Optical Drive Two: DVD-RW 20x
Removable Storage: None
Sound Card: Onboard HD 7.1 Audio
Speakers and Headsets: None
Monitor: 3 x 22" Samsung Monitors (Digital)

 

The machine was built by Wired2Fire in the UK, their web site is www.wired2fire.co.uk

And please do not ask how much, I cringe at the cost....

Back to Top
hanstatdg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: May-26-2005
Location: London, UK
Points: 9303
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hanstatdg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-17-2010 at 6:18am
John,

Not only is it a superb setup, but the photo you took also looks great.

however, it does seem a shame that it is necessary to have to spend mega bucks to be able to run FSX and UT2 to best advantage.

I have a powerful, if rather old, PC, and I find that at busy airports it is almost unflyable, even though I've configured everything as low as I possibly can without compromising the sim entirely.

It maybe that I've overloaded something somewhere, so I'm thinking of reinstalling FSX and UT2 and starting again as vanilla. I've done it before, and it does work, untill I've added on one peripheral too manyLOL.
David Hanstater
Administrator.
Back to Top
John Goodwin View Drop Down
Licensed Member
Licensed Member


Joined: May-26-2005
Points: 8133
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Goodwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-17-2010 at 8:32am

I think the major improvement has not come so much from the processor, but from the Solid State Hard Drive, Access times have reduce so much it is unbelievable.

I think that if someone said to me what would I recommend to improve system speeds I would list them as follows:-

  1. Solid State Hard Drive (240 Gbs or over)
  2. Graphics Card
  3. Processor/Memory/Motherboard

The thing about using the SSHD is that you still have your old hard drive to use to store NON-FS programes, so you can run FSX entirely on the SSHD, save and run all the other install files, fsx utilies, office and that sort of stuff from the old HD.

Of course the worse part about changing over is starting totally from scratch, but if you have more that one HD now you can back up onto the second hard drive, before you install a new SSHD and start from there. 

Back to Top
hanstatdg View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: May-26-2005
Location: London, UK
Points: 9303
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hanstatdg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-17-2010 at 6:55pm
I didn't notice that your HD was solid state. I did wonder why it was so small; now I know.

Is your SSHD the default one for Microsoft system files etc.?
David Hanstater
Administrator.
Back to Top
John Goodwin View Drop Down
Licensed Member
Licensed Member


Joined: May-26-2005
Points: 8133
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote John Goodwin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: August-17-2010 at 10:05pm

All I have on the SSHD are the SYSTEM files, AVG and FSX. thats it!

Everything else I will install/download/data will go on the other drive, but with two computers now, and both networked, I will use my old machine for the boring chores like e-mail and such like and the other new machine exclusively for FSX. Notice I did not include answering questions on the forum in boringWink

At the moment with my new system nearly finished, with 1000's of AI repaints, scenery, the 30 or so aircraft I regulary fly for fun, some beta tests, some fsx utilities like UT2, scenery designer and AFX I have only used about 50% of the SSHD space. By being careful of what I actually install on the SSHD there should be no problem.

I just make sure now that when installing an aircraft from Flight One for instance, I save the download file onto my "E" drive, then when I am installing the aircraft, I ensure that the install file that is created during the install is also saved onto my "E" drive. That way only the aircraft FSX files are actually placed onto my SSHD, all the .lic, .key, download and install files are on my "E" drive. Unfortunately that is a problem with the Flight 1 system is that you actually use three times the space when you down load, the aircraft files themselves, the downloaded file and the installer file. Of course you can delete the downloaded file and installer file and just keep the .key file if you need to re-install in the future.

 I am even running some of the smaller Utilities I use from the "E" drive to save SSHD disc space.

With the cost of SSHD drive falling almost daily, in the future, if or when I run out of space, then I will get another bigger drive and upgrade that way. But I hope that is a long, long way in the future Confused 

I hope this machine is going to last longer than the 3 or 4 years my previous machines have lasted, purely on the fact that it does everything I want it to do wellSmile, in fact as far as FSX is concerned it does it to the limits of FSXBig%20smile. So really SSHD disc space is the only problem I can see arising in the future as I install more and more aircraft and scenery.

Back to Top
specialist View Drop Down
Licensed Member
Licensed Member


Joined: July-04-2005
Points: 144
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote specialist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: September-16-2010 at 9:19pm
Originally posted by John Goodwin John Goodwin wrote:

for the techies:-

Case: Cooler Master Cosmos 1000
Power Supply: Coolermaster Real Power M850
Processor: Core i7 930 8MB Cache Socket 1366
CPU Cooler: Prolimatech Megahalem CPU Cooler
Optimisation and Tuning: Wired2Fire Overclocking
Graphics Card 1: ATI Radeon HD5800 Eyefinite
Graphics Card 2: None
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator GT DDR3 1600MHz C7 Triple Channel
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R Intel X58 (Socket 1366) Motherboard
Hard Disk Drive One: 250GB OCZ Vertex SSD Series SATA II 2.5
Hard Disk Drive Two: None
Hard Disk Drive Three: 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3 32MB Cache SATA 300
Optical Drive One: None
Optical Drive Two: DVD-RW 20x
Removable Storage: None
Sound Card: Onboard HD 7.1 Audio
Speakers and Headsets: None
Monitor: 3 x 22" Samsung Monitors (Digital)

 

The machine was built by Wired2Fire in the UK, their web site is www.wired2fire.co.uk

And please do not ask how much, I cringe at the cost....

Gee John, when I grow up I want to have a rig just like yours! lol  Looks really good John...Wink

i7 930 | HAF X | Noctua NH-D14 | Palit GTX460 | Corsair AX850 | ASUS P6X58D | HD103SJ 2TB 7200 RPM | 6G Mushkin DDR3 @ 1600 (6-8-6-24) | Win7 64bit Ultimate
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.10
Copyright ©2001-2017 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.110 seconds.